January 10, 2011

2011 Caldecott Medal and Newbery Medal Awarded

On January 10th, 2011, the American Library Association announced the 2011 award winning children's books, including the 2011 Randolph Caldecott Medal winner, “A Sick Day for Amos McGee,” illustrated by Erin E. Stead and written by Philip C. Stead and the 2011 John Newbery Medal Winner, “Moon over Manifest,” written by Clare Vanderpool.

The American Library Association also handed out the following awards and medals:

Alex Awards
Andrew Carnegie Medal
Coretta Scott King Book Awards
Coretta Scott King - Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement
Laura Ingalls Wilder Award
Margaret A. Edwards Award
May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture
Michael L. Printz Award
Mildred L. Batchelder Award
Odyssey Award
Pura Belpré Awards
Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal
Schneider Family Book Award
Stonewall Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award
Theodore Seuss Geisel Award
William C. Morris Award
YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

You can see all the 2011 award winning and honors books in the ALA press release here:  http://ala.org/ala/newspresscenter/news/pr.cfm?id=6048

A complete list of 2011 award winning books is available at 2011 Award Winning Childrens Books and last year's 2010 award winning books are available at 2010 Award Winning Children's Books.

No comments:

Post a Comment