May 8, 2010

The Christopher Awards

The Christopher Awards were presented in New York on April 15th, 2010. The awards were established by Father James Keller in 1945, who believed that every individual has the power and responsibility to change the world for the better. The Christopher awards are in four media categories; feature films, TV & Cable, books for young people, and books for adults. The awards encourage audiences and readers to use their best instincts on behalf of others, "affirm the highest values of the human spirit".

The Christopher award is a bronze medallion, 4 inches in diameter and is depicted on the right.

This year's winners in the books for young people are:
Preschool - Ten Days and Nine Nights: An Adoption Story, by Yumi Heo
Ages 6-8 - Nubs: The True Story of a Mutt, a Marine & a Miracle, by Major Brian Dennis, Kirby Larson & Mary Nethery
Ages 8-10 - Most Loved in All the World, by Tonya Cherie Hegamin, illustrated by Cozbi A. Cabrera
Ages 10-12 - Extra Credit, by Andrew Clements, illustrated by Mark Elliott
Young Adult - A Pearl in the Storm: How I Found My Heart in the Middle of the Ocean, by Tori Murden McClure

Visit 2010 Award Winning Children's Books for more great books.

No comments:

Post a Comment