February 10, 2010

The 2010 John Newbery Medal Winners

This is my second post in a series of award winning children's books. My first post focused on the 2010 Theodor Seuss Geisel Award. Today's post is for the winners of the 2010 John Newbery Medal.

The John Newbery Medal is currently awarded by the Association of Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association. The medal was first awarded in 1922 and is given "to encourage original creative work in the the field of books for children".

The 2010 John Newbery Medal is awarded to "When You Reach Me" by Rebecca Stead.

The 2010 John Newbery Award Honors go to

"Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice" by Phillip M Hoose
"The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate" by Jacqueline Kelly
"Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg" by Rodman Philbrick
"Where the Mountain Meets the Moon" by Grace Lin

Congratulations to this year's Newbery Medal Winner and Honors books and their authors.

More great books can be found at 2010 Award Winning Children's Books.

No comments:

Post a Comment